Kearney Agricultural Research and Extension Center
University of California
Kearney Agricultural Research and Extension Center

Staff Directory

Unit Director (Interim)

Photo of Khaled M Bali Ph.D. Khaled M Bali Ph.D.
Title: Irrigation Water Management Specialist
Specialty: Irrigation and water management, irrigation systems, soil salinity, drainage, infiltration, water quality, TMDL, biosolids
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: 559-646-6541
Fax: 559-646-6015
Email: kmbali@ucanr.edu

 

Faculty

Photo of Mary Lu Arpaia Ph.D. Mary Lu Arpaia Ph.D.
Title: Cooperative Extension Specialist
Specialty: Evaluation of preharvest and postharvest factor on subtropical crop productivity and fruit quality, including rootstock, cultivar, irrigation, pesticide and nutrition management strategies
Address:
Kearney Ag. Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
(559) 646-6561
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6561
Fax: (559) 646-6593
Email: mlarpaia@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Khaled M Bali Ph.D. Khaled M Bali Ph.D.
Title: Irrigation Water Management Specialist
Specialty: Irrigation and water management, irrigation systems, soil salinity, drainage, infiltration, water quality, TMDL, biosolids
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: 559-646-6541
Fax: 559-646-6015
Email: kmbali@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Anthony J. Cornel Ph.D. Anthony J. Cornel Ph.D.
Title: Associate Entomologist
Specialty: Applied and basic research on mosquitoes related to developing innovative strategies for their control
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6556
Email: ajcornel@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Carlos H. Crisosto Ph.D. Carlos H. Crisosto Ph.D.
Title: CE Postharvest Physiologist
Specialty: Extension and research on postharvest biology and technology of fruits; fruit quality and deterioration and handling systems
Notes: One Shields Avenue Department of Plant Sciences, Mail Stop 2 Davis, CA 95616
Address:
Carlos H. Crisosto
One Shield Avenue
Pismo Beach, CA 93449-3337
Phone: 5307527549
Email: chcrisosto@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Kent M Daane Kent M Daane
Title: CE Specialist
Specialty: Biological control and IPM of insect pests in perennial crops (almond, grape, stone fruit, olives, pistachios), annual crops (lettuce) and ornamentals (eucalyptus, ornamental).
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research and Education Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: 5596466522
Fax: (559) 646-6593
Email: kdaane@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Jeffery A. Dahlberg Dr Jeffery A. Dahlberg
Title: Director-UC-ANR-KARE
Specialty: Plant Breeding and Genetics
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6060
Fax: 559-646-6015
Email: jadahlberg@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Theodore M DeJong Dr Theodore M DeJong
Title: Emeritus Professor   CE Pomologist-AES   Plant Physiologist-AES
Specialty: Environmental physiology; tree crop physiology; carbon partitioning and crop modeling; pomology; physiology and management of fruit tree crops; peach rootstock development and physiology; dried plum breeding
Address:
Plant Sciences
Mail stop 2
3037 Wickson Hall
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: (530) 752-1843
Email: tmdejong@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Louise Ferguson Ph.D. Louise Ferguson Ph.D.
Title: CE Pomologist
Specialty: Tree crop physiology and production of pistachio, olive, citrus, fig, and persimmon. Areas of expertise include seasonal growth phenology, salinity tolerance, alternate bearing, canopy management, mechanical pruning, mechanical harvesting, root stock int
Address:
Louise Ferguson
Department of Plant Sciences
3045 Wickson Hall
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: (559) 737 3061 (M) 530-752-0507 (O)
Fax: 530-752-8502
Email: lferguson@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Matthew W Fidelibus Ph.D. Matthew W Fidelibus Ph.D.
Title: Cooperative Extension Specialist
Specialty: Raisin, table and wine grape production,fruit quality, whole-plant physiology, plant growth regulators, weeds.
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: 5596466510
Email: mwfidelibus@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Peter Ako Larbi Dr Peter Ako Larbi
Title: Assistant CE Specialist
Specialty: Agricultural Application Engineering
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: 559-646-6577
Email: palarbi@ucanr.edu

 

Dr Giulia Marino
Title: ASST SPECIALIST COOP EXT
Specialty: Horticultural physiology, orchard management under abiotic stress
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Email: giumarino@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Themis J. Michailides Ph.D. Themis J. Michailides Ph.D.
Title: Plant Pathologist and Lecturer
Specialty: Ecology, epidemiology and control of fungal diseases of fruit and nut crops and vines, postharvest diseases, aflatoxin and mycotoxins of nut crops and figs.
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6546
Email: tjmichailides@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Jeffrey P. Mitchell Ph.D. Jeffrey P. Mitchell Ph.D.
Title: CE Cropping Systems Specialist
Specialty: Vegetable cropping systems, irrigation management, soil quality, organic soil amendments, extension models, postharvest physiology
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6565
Email: jpmitchell@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Alireza Pourreza , Ph.D. Alireza Pourreza , Ph.D.
Title: Assistant CE Specialist of Agricultural Mechanization
Specialty: Sensing, Agricultural Automation, Precision Agriculture, Big Data
Address:
Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering, UC Davis
3042 Bainer Hall, Davis, California 95616, 3042 Bainer Hall
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: (530) 752-9290
Fax: 5307529290
Email: apourreza@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of James J Stapleton PhD James J Stapleton PhD
Title: IPM Plant Pathologist
Specialty: Integrated pest management; alternatives to synthetic chemical products for disease and pest control; solar energy in pest management; soil-plant ecology; pest issues in natural areas; biological, physical, and cultural management of reservoirs of weedy plant propagative materials; seed pathology; sustainable and appropriate pest management technologies; circular economy issues
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Center Academic Unit
9240 South Riverbend Avenue
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6536
Fax: (559) 646-6593
Email: jjstapleton@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Florent P Trouillas Florent P Trouillas
Title: Associate Cooperative Extension Specialist
Specialty: Fruit and Nut Crops, Plant Pathology
Address:
9240 South Riverbend Avenue
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: 559-646-6566
Email: flotrouillas@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr Andreas Westphal Dr Andreas Westphal
Title: UC Riverside Associate Professor of Cooperative Extension Nematology
Specialty: Applied Nematology in perennial crops including walnut, almond, pistachio, grape and citrus
Address:
9240 S Riverbend Ave
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: 559-646-6555
Email: andreasw@ucr.edu

 

Photo of Sam Houston Wilson Ph.D. Sam Houston Wilson Ph.D.
Title: Assistant Cooperative Extension Specialist
Specialty: Orchard/vineyard IPM, insect ecology, organic agriculture, agroecology
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research and Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: 559-646-6519
Email: samhw@ucr.edu

 

Staff list

Jorge Aguilar
Title: Laboratory Assistant
Specialty: Viticulture--Fidelibus Lab
Phone: (559) 646-6579
Email: joraguilar@ucanr.edu

 

Ivan Aldana
Title: Assistant Custodial Supervisor
Phone: (559) 646-6054
Email: ialdana@ucanr.edu

 

Santiago Aldana
Title: Senior Agricultural Technician
Phone: (559) 646-6023
Email: saldana@ucanr.edu

 

Tom Buzo
Title: Staff Research Associate
Specialty: Nematodes--Westphal Lab
Phone: (559) 646-6550
Email: trbuzo@ucanr.edu

 

Keith Byrum
Title: System Admin II
Phone: (559) 646-6560
Email: kcbyrum@ucanr.edu

 

Doug Cary
Title: Staff Research Associate II
Specialty: Adaskaveg NAVEK LAB and IR-4
Phone: (559) 646-6557
Email: dacary@ucanr.edu

 

Gabriel Cisneros
Title: Agricultural Technician
Phone: (559) 646-6023
Email: gcisneros@ucanr.edu

 

Rodolfo Cisneros
Title: Lead, Principal Agricultural Technician
Phone: (559) 646-6023
Email: racisneros@ucanr.edu

 

David Ennes
Title: IR-4 Field Research Director
Phone: (559) 646-6061
Email: djennes@ucanr.edu

 

Marvin E. Flores Aguilera
Title: Environmental Health and Safety Specialist III
Phone: 559-646-6013
Email: marvinflores@ucanr.edu

 

Ping Gu
Title: Staff Research Associate
Specialty: Citrus Entomology--Grafton-Cardwell Lab
Phone: (559) 646-6597
Email: pggu@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Bryan Heyano Bryan Heyano
Title: Senior Agricultural Technician
Phone: (559) 646-6023
Email: bkheyano@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Marcie Holmes-Baker Marcie Holmes-Baker
Title: Office Assistant II
Phone: (559) 646-6011
Email: mjholmesbaker@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Robert Johnson Robert Johnson
Title: GIS Programmer
Specialty: GIS
Phone: (559) 646-6062
Email: robjohnson@ucanr.edu

 

Mitchell Oliveira
Title: Physical Plant Mechanic 2
Phone: 5592468583
Email: mroliveira@ucanr.edu

 

Yuling Ouyang
Title: Staff Research Associate-Citrus Entomology
Phone: (559) 646-6597
Email: yuling.ouyang@uckac.edu

 

Victor Polkownikow
Email: vrpolkownikow@ucdavis.edu

 

Mr Ryan David Puckett
Title: Staff Research Associate
Specialty: Plant Pathology--Michailides Lab
Phone: (559) 646-6549
Email: rdpuckett-old@ucanr.edu

 

Salvador Rangel
Title: Farm Worker
Phone: (559) 646-6023
Email: salrangel@ucanr.edu

 

Jose J Reyes
Email: jesreyes@ucdavis.edu

 

Mauricio Robles
Email: maurobles@ucanr.edu

 

Jesus Salazar
Email: jessalazar@ucanr.edu

 

Guadalupe Sandoval
Email: gsandoval@ucanr.edu

 

Vincent Silva
Email: vasilva@ucanr.edu

 

Keri Skiles
Title: Staff Research Associate II
Specialty: IR-4 Program
Phone: (559) 646-6061
Email: kmskiles@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Duane Soares Duane Soares
Title: Sr. Farm Machinery Mechanic
Phone: (559) 646-6027
Email: dsoares@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Patrick West Patrick West
Title: Crafts and Trades Manager 1
Phone: (559) 646-6052
Email: pjwest@ucanr.edu

 

Emeritus

Photo of Walter Joseph Bentley Walter Joseph Bentley
Title: Integrated Pest Management Entomologist, Emeritus
Specialty: Entomology
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6500
Email: wjbentley@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of David A. Goldhamer Ph.D. David A. Goldhamer Ph.D.
Title: CE Water Management Specialist
Specialty: Water management of horticultural crops, regulated deficit irrigation, plant water relations, plant-based water status sensors
Address:
Hydrology Program, LAWR/Veihmeyer
One Shields Avenue
139 Veihmeyer Hall
Davis, CA 95616
Phone: (559) 646-6575
Email: dagoldhamer@ucdavis.edu

 

Photo of Peter B Goodell Ph.D. Peter B Goodell Ph.D.
Title: Cooperative Extension Advisor Emeritus, IPM
Specialty: Development and delivery of IPM tactics, nematode and insect pest management in field crops, (cotton, alfalfa, melon) developing IPM strategies at the ecological landscape level
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6515
Email: pbgoodell@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Elizabeth E Grafton-Cardwell Ph.D. Elizabeth E Grafton-Cardwell Ph.D.
Title: Emeritus Entomology Cooperative Extension Specialist
Specialty: Citrus Integrated Pest Management
Notes: Beth Grafton-Cardwell is an extension specialist with UC Riverside Entomology with appointments at both Lindcove REC and at the Kearney Ag Center
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Email: eegraftoncardwell@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Dr David A Grantz Ph.D. Dr David A Grantz Ph.D.
Title: Plant Physiologist & CE Specialist   
Specialty: Air pollution, Ozone, Environmental Crop Physiology, Biofuel Feedstocks
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6599
Fax: (559) 646-6593
Email: dagrantz@ucanr.edu

 

Dr Donald Grimes Ph.D.
Title: Water Scientist, Emeritus
Specialty: Water and Soil Science
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 638-9987
Email: dwgrimes@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Marshall W. Johnson Ph.D. Marshall W. Johnson Ph.D.
Title: IPM Specialist and Research Entomologist, Emeritus
Specialty: Integrated pest management of grapes, stone fruit, almonds and walnuts; biological control of arthropods; pesticide resistance in pests and natural enemies
Address:
UC Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave
559-646-6519
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 360-4320
Email: mwjohnson@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of R. Scott Johnson Ph.D. R. Scott Johnson Ph.D.
Title: CE Pomologist, Emeritus
Specialty: Irrigation, fertilization, fruit thinning, rootstocks and fruit growth of peach, plum, nectarine, apple and kiwifruit; Davis campus specialist
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Email: rsjohnson1953@gmail.com

 

Photo of Michael V McKenry Ph.D. Michael V McKenry Ph.D.
Title: Emeritus Nematologist and CE Nematology Specialist, Emeritus
Specialty: Field pathogenicity and practical control of nematodes in perennial crops
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6554
Fax: (559) 646-6593
Email: mvmckenry@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Lawrence J. Schwankl Ph.D. Lawrence J. Schwankl Ph.D.
Title: CE Irrigation Specialist, Retired
Specialty: Irrigation engineering, design, operation and management of irrigation systems, soil moisture monitoring, low-volume irrigation
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6500
Email: ljschwankl@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Charles G Summers Ph.D. Charles G Summers Ph.D.
Title: Entomologist, emeritus
Specialty: Pest management of field and vegetable crops, biology, ecology and management of aphids, aphids as virus vectors
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6523
Email: cgsummers@ucanr.edu

 

Photo of Beth L Teviotdale Ph.D. Beth L Teviotdale Ph.D.
Title: CE Plant Pathologist, Emeritus
Specialty: Epidemiology and control of deciduous tree nut and fruit crops and olive diseases
Address:
1072 Rorden Avenue
Selma, CA 93662
Phone: (559) 891-1497
Email: blteviotdale@ucanr.edu

 

Larry E. Williams Ph.D.
Title: Professor Plant Physiologist-AES
Specialty: Influences of microclimate on physiological processes of the grapevine; cultural techniques of the grapevine associated with the production of raisins and table grapes; carbon assimilation by and allocation in the vine; effect of senescence on gas exchange characteristics; whole plant physiology
Address:
Kearney Agricultural Research & Extension Center
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA 93648
Phone: (559) 646-6558
Email: lewilliams@ucanr.edu

 
Webmaster Email: kcbyrum@ucanr.edu